W/E 9th APRIL Limerick F.C. 0:3 Shamrock Rovers

Match Report
Limerick F.C. 0
Shamrock Rovers 3
09 Apr 2017 - 14:00Hogan Park

Limerick F.C.  0:3  Shamrock Rovers

Any Hoops fan who might have had the opportunity to watch this game this afternoon in Limerick would have been seriously impressed with the technical skills on display.

A special mention goes today to left full Eric Abulu who had what is his best game to date in a green and white jersey. Eric was outstanding to say the least.

The first half was seriously devoid of any goalscoring opportunities although the Hoops finished very strongly with a couple of runs down the right from the impressive Jack Kelly carving open the home defence.

The first goal didn’t come though until the 51st minute and it was fitting that man Abulu played a big part in it. Dean Williams finished in typical style and celebrated in style too! Limerick had a man sent off after Williams was fouled outside the box and after that the Hoops totally dominated the game.

Full credit to Limerick ‘keeper Corey McManus who denied the Hoops time and time again most notably in the 61st minute after he managed to get a critical block to deny Andrew Spain a goal and again in the same attacking movement when he somehow managed to block Williams also.

Then in the 69th minute McManus again managed to get a block on a Williams shot; with the ‘keeper having moved out of position Rhys Murphy saw an opportunity to knock the ball over the line but Williams hadn’t got up off the ground and Murphy’s shot towards an open goal hit Williams on the back and the chance was gone.

A minute later Jack Kelly made a bit of space for himself on the right and took the ball into the box before picking his spot to slot the ball into the back of the net to make it 2-0.

Williams, who had a smashing game, made it 3-0 on the stroke of full time.

Pics from the game here

The team lined out as follows: Kalvin Geraghty, Martins Olakanye, Adam O’Connor, Andrew Spain, Eric Abulu, Jack Kelly, Conor Behan, Conor Grant, Eric Smithers, Kenny Cunningham, Dean Williams. Subs: Rhys Murphy for Cunningham (67 mins), Dan Howlin for Kelly (76 mins), James Clarke for Grant (80 mins), Thomas Hannon for Smithers (80 mins), Gavin Bazuna for Geraghty (83 mins).