W/E 23rd APRIL Shamrock Rovers v Wexford F.C.

Match Report
Shamrock Rovers 5
Wexford F.C. 0
22 Apr 2017 - 14:00Tallaght Stadium

Shamrock Rovers 5-0 Wexford Youths

Five good goals, plenty of other opportunities to score and a couple that came off the posts. This was a good afternoon for the Hoops as they displayed the typical flair we have witnessed from this team since the beginning of the season. The first goal came in the 7th minute following some terrific work from Eric Abulu who tore down the left and accepted a grand pass from Andy Spain. Abulu continued deep into the box before switching to the centre. Rhys Murphy added to it for Dean Williams to slot it to the net.

Two minutes later Murphy set it up for Abulu but the shot from the left full was taken off the line. Goal number two came in the 21st minute. Conor Grant, from the middle, passed to wide man Jack Kelly who carried the ball into the box and released it for Williams to strike from close range to make it 2-0.

Wexford had a rare chance in the 25th minute when team captain Liam Berry took a shot but this was expertly dealt with by centre half Adam O’Connor who blocked it and cleared.

The second half was just a minute on when Rhys Murphy put Rovers 3-0 up. Murphy and Martins Olakanye both struck the upright in a two-minute period. The Hoops were rampant though and it wasn’t long before they got their fourth. Abulu and Murphy had combined to set up an attack that finished with Grant taking possession in the centre of the box and shooting over the line. Youths’ keeper Colum Feeney was a busy man and pulled off three brilliant saves in quick succession to keep the score down.

The ever rampant Murphy made it 5-0 for the Hoops in the 87th minute. Full credit to the Wexford lads though. Their heads never dropped. They played good football from start to finish and deserve credit for the manner in which they conducted themselves throughout the game.

Shamrock Rovers: 1. Calvin Geragthy: 14. Martins Olakanye, 4. Andrew Spain, 5. Adam O’Connor, 3. Eric Abulu; 7. Jack Kelly, 8. Evan Smithers, 14. Conor Behan, 10. Conor Grant, 17. Rhys Murphy; 9. Dean Williams. Subs: Thomas Hannon for Smithers (57 mins), Conor Fitzharris for O’Connor (61 mins), James Clarke for Grant (72 mins), Dan Howlin for Kelly (72 mins), Gavin Bazunu for Geragthy (78 mins).

Link to pics from the game here

Link to league table here