Match Report
Shamrock Rovers 3
St. Pat's Athletic 0
21 Oct 2018 - 15:00Tallaght StadiumLeague SF

FAI SSE Airtricity Under 19 League Semi Final
Shamrock Rovers 3-0 St. Patrick’s Athletic

St. Pat’s pressed fast and furiously in the very early stages of this game but it became apparent very quickly they weren’t going to be able to maintain this against a very strong Hoops side that included Brandon Kavanagh and Aaron Bolger.

Both sides did produce some good chances and it all exploded in the 28th minute when Bolger delivered a great pass to Cian Collins who struck the post with a piledriver of a shot. Rovers took the lead in the 34th minute when Dean Williams sent a penalty kick into the net past ‘keeper Brian Maher who was furious with himself as he guessed the angle right but Williams doesn’t miss these opportunities easily.

The Saints had a couple of half chances in the first ten minutes of the second half as Rovers tried to slow down the pace. There was a good spell of pressure from the Hoops during which they got their second goal after Williams had struck but his effort was blocked by the keeper and then Emmanuel Lawel pounced on the ball, drew his body back and shot into the net.

That basically was it as the Saints couldn’t break down a very slick Hoops side that oozed quality all over.

The third goal came when there hadn’t looked like any particular danger but when you make an error at the back and top goalscorer Williams is lurking he will punish you and the lad from Kevin Street made no mistake with his second and Rovers’ third. Pat’s had a good chance late in the game to get one back when Kian Clarke pushed an effort from Luke Heeney onto the bar but it would have been nothing than a consolation. 

For the second time today St. Patrick’s Athletic could have no argument in being beaten by the Hoops.

Rovers will face Bohs in the final at Tallaght Stadium on Tues 30th October. 

Shamrock Rovers: 1. Kian Clarke, 2. Darren Prendergast, 5. Conor Gleeson, 4. Adam O’Connor, 18. Sean Callan ©, 17. Emmanuel Lawal, 16. Cian Collins, 11. Kenny Cunningham, 21. Aaron Bolger, 7. Brandon Kavanagh, 9. Dean Williams. Substitutes: 25. Adam Kenny, 24. Darragh O’Connor, 6. Evan White, 10. Richie English (for Cunningham 70 mins), 3. Eric Abulu, 14. Evan Smithers, 8. Harry Cornally (for Bolger 84 mins).

Report and photos by Robert Goggins